Why Shoulderstand is So Good for You!

IMG_3087 (1)Shoulder stand benefits

MALA YOGA

by Angela Clark

IMG_3087 (1)Before I go into the benefits or shoulderstand, let me just say this: shoulderstand was one of those poses that when it came up in class (and 15 years ago it always came up in class), I would feel the dread overtake me.  It never felt good, I struggled to keep myself up without all pressure going into my wrists, and oftentimes my back would seize up after I came out of the pose.  I would try everything – blankets, belts, bolsters- and it never felt good. But, like a good student, I continued to practice and finally found a way that made shoulderstand feel good.

So, all that is to say – I get it. I understand if you feel like shoulderstand is not all it’s cracked up to be.

But the benefits–well, they’re undeniable.

First off, shoulderstand is an inversion, which means it’s great for helping move the…

View original post 205 more words

Leave a Reply

